EC Formation: Search committee holding first meeting


Dhaka, Feb 06: The six-member search committee, formed by President Abdul Hamid for the formation of the next Election Commission, is holding its first meeting at the Supreme Court’s judges lounge.

All members of the search committee are present at the meeting that started at 4:30pm.

For all latest news, follow The Daily Star’s Google News channel.

The president has formed the search committee, led by Justice Obaidul Hassan, in line with the new law on forming the Election Commission.

The other members are Justice SM Kuddus Zaman, a High Court judge; Comptroller and Auditor General Mohammad Muslim Chowdhury; Public Service Commission Chairman Md Sohorab Hossain; former election commissioner Sohul Hussain; and psychiatrist and writer Anwara Syed Haq, according to a gazette issued yesterday.

The search committee has six working days to recommend names to the president for the appointments of the chief election commissioner and other commissioners as the tenure of the current EC, headed by CEC KM Nurul Huda, expires on February 14.