Govt working to build Bangabandhu’s dream country: Nanak


Dhaka, Jan 10: Awami League Presidium Member Advocate Jahangir Kabir Nanak today said the present government under the leadership of Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina is working to build a prosperous country as dreamt by Bangabandhu Sheikh Mujibur Rahman.

“The government led by Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina is working relentlessly for building a prosperous and developed country as dreamt by Father of the Nation Bangabandhu Sheikh Mujibur Rahman,” he said.

Nanak said while paying tributes to Bangabandhu at his portrait on Bangabandhu Bhaban premises at Dhanmondi here on behalf of the ruling Awami League (AL) on the historical Home Coming Day of the Father of the Nation this morning.

He said the independence got complete shape through the home coming of Bangabandhu on this day in 1972.

Under the leadership of Bangabandhu, he said the Bangalee nation fought in 1971 for independence. But the independence was incomplete when Bangabandhu was imprisoned in Pakistan, he added.

“Our independence became meaningful when the Father of the Nation returned home on January 10 in 1972,” Nanak said.

But, Bangabandhu along with his family members were brutally killed by the 71’s defeated forces as the Father of the Nation was rebuilding the war-ravaged country, he went on saying.

Turning to Narayanganj city corporation polls, the ruling party leader said the electioneering is taking place amid enthusiasm.

He said the AL is working unitedly for its candidate Salina Hayat Ivy to make her win in the polls.

“The people are united …there is no confusion and division,” he added.

Awami League Presidium Members Begum Matia Chowdhury and Abdur Rahman, Joint General Secretary and Information and Broadcasting Minister Dr Hasan Mahmud, Joint General Secretaries Mahbubul Alam Hanif, Dr Dipu Moni, and AFM Bahauddin Nasim, Organizing Secretaries Ahmad Hossen and BM Mozammel Huq, Publicity and Publication Secretary Dr Abdus Sobhan Golap, Cultural Affairs Secretary Ashim Kumar Ukil, Science and Technology Affairs Secretary Abdus Sabur, Deputy Office Secretary Sayem Khan and Central Committee Members ABM Reazul Kabir Kawsar and Anwar Hossain, among others, were present.