AL leader murder: 13 to die, 8 get life-term in B’baria


Brahmanbaria, Dec 26: A tribunal has sentenced thirteen people to death and eight others to life-term imprisonment in a case filed over the murder of businessman and former general secretary of Natai Dakkhin Union 5 number ward Awami League (AL) unit in Brahmanbaria.

Dhaka’s Speedy Trial Tribunal-1 Judge Abu Jafar Md Kamruzzaman passed the order on Sunday.

The death-row convicts are Basu Miah, Kabir Miah, Mokhles, Sachchu Miah, Jahangir Miah, Shahibur Rahman Shukki, Liakot Ali, Younuch Miah, Rahmat Ullah alias Fariaz Miah, Shithil Ahmed alias Fahim Ahmed, Saiful, Pabel and Ali Miah.

The people who got life-term imprisonment are Nurul Islam, Habibur Rahman, Rasel, Maju Miah, Golap Miah, Sohel Miah, Shahjahan and Borhan alias Ruhan.

On November 14 in 2016, Jahirul Haque came under the attack on the way to his village at Poyag and died while undergoing treatment.

Later, his younger brother Kabir Hossen filed a murder case with Brahmanbaria Sadar Police Station.

The investigation officer of the case submitted a charge sheet against 21 accused to the court. Of them, 16 accused are in the court and the rest are on the run.