Noakhali housewife molesters jailed for 10 yrs


Naokhali, Dec 14: All the 13 accused in the Noakhali housewife molestation case have been sentenced to 10 years’ rigorous imprisonment each.

The convicts are Delwar Hossain Delu, Nur Hossain Badol, Abdur Rahim, Abul Kalam, Israfil Hossain Mia, Main Uddin Sazu, Samsuddin Sum Contractor, Nur Hossain Russel, Anwar Hossain Shohagh, Abdur Rob Chowdhury, Mostafizur Rahman, Jamal Uddin, and Mizanur Rahman Tareque.

Out of them, Abdur Rob Chowdhury, Mostafizur Rahman, Jamal Uddin, and Mizanur Rahman are on the run.

The convicts have also been fined Tk 50,000 each and in default, they will have to serve three months more in jail.

Naokhali District Women and Children Repression Prevention Tribunal-1 Judge Joynal Abedin handed down the verdict on Tuesday afternoon.

Public prosecutor advocate Mamunur Rashid Lavlu confirmed the matter to Jago News.

On the night of September 2, 2020, a group of 14-15 local miscreants, including local ‘Delwar gang’ chief Delwar Hossain Delu, stormed the house of the woman in Begumganj upazila.

They beat the woman’s husband and tortured her after undressing her. They were also video-recorded the acts.

On October 4 of the same year, the video was circulated on different social media platforms that sparked outcry across the country.

Later, in association with the police, the victim lodged two separate cases under the women and children repression prevention, and pornography acts in this connection.