Lawmaker Ekabbar Hossain passes away


Dhaka, Nov 16: Ekabbar Hossain, member of the Parliament (MP) from Tangail-7 constituency-(Mirzapur) and Mirzapur Upazila Awami League president, passed away at a city hospital this noon.

He was 65, Barrister Tahrim Hossain Simant, son of the deceased, told BSS.

According to family sources, he had been undergoing treatment at Dhaka CMH for some time.

His Namaz-e-Janaza will be held at Mirzapur High School premises after Johr prayers on Wednesday (tomorrow).

Ekabbar Hossain was elected as a Member of Parliament from Tangail-7 (Mirzapur) constituency as an Awami League nominated candidate in the 2001, 2008, 2014 and 2018 parliamentary elections.

He was also the Chairman of the Standing committee on the Ministry of Road Transport and Bridges in the present Parliament.

The late lawmaker was born on July 12, 1956 in Postkamuri village under Mirzapur upazila.

He was involved in politics through joining Bangladesh Chhatra League (BCL), student wing of the Bangladesh Awami League, while studying at the Government Titumir College in 1973. He was the general secretary of the college unit of Chhatra League.

In 1986, he was the general secretary of Mohsin Hall unit of Chhatra League of Dhaka University (DU) and later in 1978, he was the president of the same hall unit of Chhatra League.

He obtained BSS honors from Dhaka University in 1977 and MSS degree in 1978.