Bangabandhu T20 Cup begins Tuesday as Khulna take favourite tag


Sports desk, Nov 23: The Bangabandhu T20 Cup 2020 is all set to start Tuesday at the Sher-e-Bangla National Cricket Stadium with matches Beximco Dhaka vs Minister Group Rajshahi and Fortune Barishal vs Gemcon Khulna matches.

The first matches will take place at 1:30pm, and the second game will be played at 6:30. All 24 matches of this event will be played at the same venue. Due to Covid-19 restriction, there will be no spectator in the gallery. However, all the matches will be telecast live by T-Sports, a sports channel.

Starting from November 24, the Bangabandhu T20 Cup will end on December 18. After the league stage of 20 matches, the top fourth and third team will face each other in the Eliminator match, and the winner will march to the second Qualifier while the loser will see their end.

The top two teams in the league phase will take on each other in the Qualifier one. The winner of this game will book a place in the final, and the loser will take on the winner of the Eliminator game in the second Qualifier, and winner of the second Qualifier will advance to the final.

Gemcon Khulna is favourite on paper

Gemcon Khulna is the only team to have roped in two players from the A Category, and they are— Mahmudullah Riyad and Shakib Al Hasan. Along with them, Imrul Kayes, Al Amin Hossain, Anamul Haque and Shafiul Islam are the backbone of Gemcon Khulna.

And players like Hasan Mahmud, Shahidul Islam and Zakir Hasan also added extra power to the armoury of Khulna. Overall, they hold the favourite tag in this event.

Squad of Gemcon Khulna: Shakib Al Hasan, Mahmudullah Riyad, Imrul Kayes, Hasan Mahmud, Al Amin Hossian, Anamul Haque Bijoy, Shamim Patowary, Ariful Haque, Shafiul Islam, Shuvagata Hom Chowdhury, Shohidul Islam, Rishad Hossain,  Zakir Hasan, Nazmul Islam Apu, Salman Hossain, Jahurul Islam Omi

Liton, Soumya are the stars in Chattogram’s arsenal

Liton Das and Soumya Sarkar have the ability to change the game at any moment. The Gazi Group Chattogram are the lucky enough to rope in the duo. Mohammad Mithun and Mosaddek Hossain are also key players of this team.

Mustafizur Rahman, Taijul Islam and the World Cup-winning U-19 star Rakibul Islam are also gearing up to shine for Gazi Group Chattogram. As always, Chattogram’s coach Mohammad Salahuddin is going to rely on the service of the youngsters of his team.

Squad of Gazi Group Chattogram: Mustafizur Rahman, Liton Das, Mohammad Mithun, Soumya Sarker, Mosaddek Hossain Saikat, Shoriful Islam, Ziaur Rahman, Taijul Islam, Shamsur Rahman, Nahidul Islam, Md Shykat Ali, Mominul Haque, Rakibul Hasan, Sanjit Saha, Mahmudul Hasan Joy, Mehadi Hasan.

Mushfiqur, Rubel is set to guide Beximco Dhaka

Former Bangladesh captain and right-handed batsman Mushfiqur Rahim was the first player to get a team in the players draft of Bangabandhu T20 Cup. The stalwart will lead Beximco Dhaka under the coaching of Khaled Mahmud. He will have Rubel Hossain as his main weapon in the league.

Sabbir Rahman, Mohammad Naim, Nayeem Hasan and Abu Hider Rony are the other Dhaka players who have represented Bangladesh in the international circuit. They also have youngsters like Tanzid Hasan Tamim and Shahadat Hossain, who were part of Bangladesh’s World Cup-winning U-19 team.

Squad of Beximco Dhaka: Mushfiqur Rahim, Rubel Hossain, Tanzid Hasan Tamim, Nasum Ahmed, Naeem Sheikh, Naeem Hassan, Shahadat Hossain Dipu, Akbar Ali, Yasir Ali Rabbi, Sabbir Rahman, Mehedi Hasan Rana, Muktar Ali, Shafiqul Islam, Abu Hider Rony, Pinak Ghosh, Robiul Islam Robi

Minister Group Rajshahi has no player from A Category

Despite having a chance to get a player from the top category in the draft, Minister Group Rajshahi opted to take the service of Mohammad Saifuddin.

Nazmul Hossain Shanto will lead Rajshahi in this event. Rajshahi will rely on their pace attack more than the spin-bowling department. They have Ebadat Hossain and Mukidul Islam Mugdho, who have already drawn the attention of the spectators. However, they will miss the service of Saifuddin who has been ruled out for a few matches with an ankle injury.

Squad of Minister Group Rajshai: Mohammad Saifuddin, Sk Mahadi Hasan, Nazmul  Hossian Shanto, Nurul Hasan Sohan, Farhad Reza, Mohammad Ashraful, Arafat Sunny, Ebadat Hossian, Fazle Mahmud Rabbi, Rony Talukder, Anisul Emon, Rezaur Rahman, Jaker Ali Aunik, Rakibul Hasan (Snr), Mukidul Islam Mugdho, Sunzamul Islam

Tamim is not happy with his team Fortune Barishal

“We’ve made a mistake in the players draft,” this is what Tamim Iqbal, the captain fo Fortune Barishal, said in his first media interaction before the Bangabandhu T20 Cup.

Despite having Taskin Ahmed, Mehidy Hasan Miraz, Abu Jayed Rahi, Saif Hassan, Sumon Khan in the squad, Tamim believes they have to go for “something out of the box” to do well in the league. He also said: “If we play according to the traditional plan with this team, we may not get the result we expect. So, we’ve to do something out of the box.”

Squad of Fortune Barishal: Tamim Iqbal Khan, Afif Hossian Dhrubo, Taskin Ahmed, Irfan Shukkur, Mehedi Hasan Miraz, Abu Jayed Rahi, Towhid Hridoy, Tanvir Islam, Sumon Khan, Mohammad Saif Hassan, Aminul Islam Biplob, Mahidul Ankon, Pervez Hossain Emon, Kamrul Islam Rabbi, Abu Sayem, Sohrawardi Shuvo.