Rickshaws to be banned in Dhaka’s 3 routes from July 7


Dhaka, July 03: The plying of rickshaws will be banned in three routes of Dhaka from July 7 to bring discipline in city’s chaotic traffic.The routes are Gabtali to Azimpur via Asad Gate, Science Lab to Shahbagh and Kuril Bishwa road to Syedabad Bus Terminal through Rampura and Khilgaon.

The decision was taken at a meeting of Dhaka Transport Authority led by Dhaka South City Corporation Mayor Sayeed Khokon on Wednesday.

BRTA Chairman Moshiar Rahman, BRTC Chairman Farid Ahmed Bhuiyan, DMP Additional Commissioner (Traffic) Mofiz Uddin Ahmed and Dhaka Transport Owners’ Association secretary Khandaker Enayet Ullah were present.