Fakhrul’s seat declared vacant as he fails to take oath


Dhaka, April 30: The Bogura-6 constituency from where BNP Secretary General Mirza Fakhrul Islam Alamgir was elected in the December-30 general election, fell vacant as he failed to take oath within the stipulated time.Speaker Dr. Shirin Sharmin Chaudhury on Tuesday night informed the House about it.

“Since Mirza Fakhrul Islam Alamgir, who was elected from parliamentary seat-41, Bogura-6 in the 11th parliamentary election, failed to take oath within the 90 days from the date of the first meeting of Parliament after his election as per Article 67 (Ka) of the Constitution, his constituency has fallen vacant,” said the Speaker.

Dr. Shirin said she informed the House of it as per the rules of procedure of Parliament.

The BNP-led Jatiya Oikyafront secured eight seats out of 300 in the 2018 national election. Of them, BNP got six, while its ally Gonoforum bagged two seats.

Among them, all the Jatiya Oikyafront MPs-elect except Mirza Fakhrul Islam took oath as MPs within the stipulated time of April 29 last (Monday).

The 11th parliament formed through the December-30 general election went into its maiden session on January 30, 2019.