BNP’s Zahidur Rahman takes oath as MP


Dhaka, April 25: BNP parliament member-elect for Thakurgaon 3 constituency Zahidur Rahman followed the footsteps of two Oikya Front MPs Sultan Mohammad Mansur and Mokabbir Khan as he took his oath of office in parliament on Thursday noon.In response to a letter sent by Zahidur Rahman to speaker Shirin Sharmin Chaudhury on Thursday morning, an arrangement was made to administrate oath to him at the Jatiya Sangsad Bhaban.

Zahidur Rahman took his oath at 12pm in Jatiya Sangsad (Parliament) Bhaban.

Speaker Dr. Shirin Sharmin Chaudhury administered the swearing-in program at her office.

On March 7, Sultan Mohammad Mansur, MP-elect for Moulvibazar 2 constituency, took oath as a member of the 11th parliament.

Later, a lawmaker from Sylhet-2 constituency Mokabbir Khan of Gano Forum took oath on April 2.

BNP along with Gano Forum and some other parties joined the December-30 election in an alliance under the banner of the Jatiya Oikya Front.

BNP bagged six seats while Gano Forum got two seats in the election.

The alliance turned down the election results bringing the allegation of ‘massive vote robbery’ and decided not to join the parliament.

Gano Forum expelled Sultan Mansur hours after he had joined the parliament.

Zahidur Rahman became the first among six MP-elects from BNP to take oath defying party’s decision.