Rajuk starts collecting high-rise buildings’ info

Rajuk starts collecting high-rise buildings’ info


Dhaka, April 01: The capital’s development authority started a drive on Monday to gather details of buildings that are over 10-storey tall.

Rajuk’s drive comes two days after a devastating fire at a 22-storey building in Banani killed 26 people and injured dozens, UNB reports.

Government officials said the building had flouted rules and did not have adequate firefighting equipment.

A 24-member Rajuk team, consisting of an authorised officer, assistant authorised officer, chief building inspector and building inspector are conducting the survey in eight zones under Rajuk.

Ashulia and Dhamshona will be known as zone-1 while Uttara, Tongi and Gazipur under zone-2, Savar and Mirpur under zone-3, Gulshan-Banani-Mohakhali and Purbachal under zone-4, Dhanmondi and Lalbagh under zone-5, Motijheel and Bhulta under zone 6, Keraniganj, Jurain, Sutrapur and Wari under zone-7 and Demra, Narayanganj and Sonargaon under zone-8.