Gono Forum MPs-elect not to join parliament: Dr Kamal


Dhaka, Jan 31: Gono Forum President Dr Kamal Hossain on Thursday said they have asked their two MPs-elect not to join parliament as per their party’s decision.“We’ve clearly conveyed them (two MPs) our party’s decision of not joining parliament, and they won’t do it,” he said.

Dr Kamal came up with the remarks while talking to reporters after a meeting of Jatiya Oikyafront steering committee at his Motijheel chamber.

According to the media reports , Gono Forum’s two MPs-elect –Sultan Mohammad Mansur (Moulvibazar-2) and Mokabbir Khan (Sylhet-2) – are willing to join joining parliament showing respect to people’s mandate given in favour of them.

BNP along with Gono Forum and some other parties joined the December-30 election in alliance under the banner of Jatiya Oikyafront. BNP bagged six seats while Gono Forum two in the election.

The alliance turned down the election results bringing the allegation of ‘massive vote robbery’ and demanded reelection.

The first session of the new parliament began on Wednesday without participation of the eight MPs-elect of Oikyafront.

Meanwhile, the Oikyafront has decided not to join the tea party at Ganobhaban on February 2, terming it a “mockery”.

Oikyafront spokesman Mirza Fakhrul Islam Alamgir said, “Our several thousand leaders and activists have been in jail while many others killed and injured centring the election. Many candidates have also been injured.”

He further said, “Under the circumstances, we think arranging such a tea party by the prime minister is nothing but a mockery. So, we think there’s no necessity to join the tea party.”

Later, at a press release issued by the Oikyafront said its steering committee unanimously decided not to take part in the tea party at the invitation of the Prime Minister.

“The government formed through a farce in the name of an election is in no way moral one. People lost their minimum democratic rights and the right to elect their representatives through casting votes on December 30. “Many Oikyafront leaders and activists are still being arrested in new cases. Under the circumstances, it’s not possible to join the Prime Minister’s tea party.”

On January 26, Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina invited Jatiya Oikyafront senior leaders to exchange greetings at Ganobhaban over tea on February 2.

Apart from Fakhrul, JSD president ASM Abdur Rob, general secretary Abdul Malek Ratan, Gono Forum executive president Subrata Chowdhury, Nagorik Oikya convener Mahmudur Rahman Manna, Krishak Sramik Janata League general secretary Iqbal Siddiqui and Gonoshasthya Kendra founder Dr Zafrullah Chowdhury were, among others, joined the meeting with Kamal Hossain in the chair.