JS elects Speaker, deputy speaker unanimously


Dhaka, Jan 30: Dr Shirin Sharmin Chaudhury (Parliament Member from Rangpur-6 constituency) of the 11th Jatiya Sangsad was elected Speaker of the Jatiya Sangsad unanimously on Wednesday.

Soon after election of the Speaker, the Deputy Speaker adjourned the house for 20 minutes.

Later, the newly elected Speaker Dr Shirin Sharmin Chaudhury took oath at the President’s chamber of the Jatiya Sangsad. President Md Abdul Hamid administered the oath.

Earlier, the first sitting of the 11th Jatiya Sangsad resumed with Deputy Speaker Md Fazle Rabbi Miah in the chair and announced for Speaker election in the House.

Fazle Rabbi Miah informed the House that he got a nomination paper for Speaker of the 11th Jatiya Sangsad.

Road Transport and Bridges Minister Obaidul Quader moved the motion for the election of the speaker while Chief Whip Noor-E-Alam Chowdhury supported it.

Deputy Speaker Md Fazle Rabbi Miah declared Dr Shirin Sharmin Chaudhury as Speaker of the House as she was the only candidate, but the speaker was elected by voice votes under Rules of Procedure of -8 of the Jatiya Sangsad.

After taking oath, Speaker began the sitting after 20 minutes.

Md Fazle Rabbi Miah was elected Deputy Speaker by voice votes, as Whip Atiqur Rahman Atiq moved the motion for election of the Deputy Speaker and it was seconded by Whip Iqbalur Rahim.