Bangladesh to start T20 World Cup 2020 campaign Oct 19


Sports desk, 29: Bangladesh will start their T20 World Cup 2020 campaign on October 19 next year against Qualifier B at Blundstone Arena, Hobart, Australia.The match will start at Bangladesh time 9:00 am, according to the International Cricket Council (ICC).

The ICC on Tuesday revealed the schedule for the upcoming T20 World Cup.

The most exciting part of the tournament, Super 12, will begin from 24 October with the match between the hosts Australia and Pakistan. Bangladesh and Sri Lanka have missed out the direct entry to the Super 12 stage of the tournament while the top eight teams of ICC T20 Ranking have achieved that.

The two Asian giants, Bangladesh and Sri Lanka, have to fight with six qualifiers teams in the first round of the T20 World Cup. Which teams will qualify to play in the first round with Bangladesh and Sri Lanka, will be determined by a tournament titled ‘2020 ICC T20 World Cup Qualifier’ which is expected to take the field on October 2019.

If Bangladesh can finish the first round with expected success, they will take one step ahead to group B of the Super Four stage which is formed including India, England, South Africa, Afghanistan, First Round Group B team 1 and First Round Group A team 2.

Before that, Bangladesh will play the first match in the First Round on 19 October while the remaining two matches will be held on 21 and 23 October respectively.

If Bangladesh can pass the First Round successfully, they will play the first match of Super 12 stage against England on 26 October at Perth while the other matches will be held respectively on 28 October against Afghanistan at Perth, 2 November against A2 on Sydney, 5 November against India Adelaide and 8 November against South Africa at Sydney.

Bangladesh’s Frist Round matches schedule:

19, 21 and 23 October 2020 against Qualifier B3, B2 and B4 respectively

Bangladesh’s Super 12 matches (if they can pass First Round successfully):

26, 28 October and 2, 5, 8 November against England, Afghanistan, A2, India and South Africa respectively