Newly-elected MPs sworn in


Dhaka, Jan 03: Newly-elected members of parliament (MPs) of Awami League, Jatiya Party and other parties as well as independent ones were sworn in at three separate functions on Thursday.Outgoing Speaker Dr Shirin Sharmin Chaudhury first took oath herself as an MP and then administered the oath to other AL MPs at the Oath Room of the Jatiya Sangsad Bhaban at 11am.

Later, the Speaker administered the oath to the MPs of Workers’ Party, Jasod (Inu), Bikalpadhara Bangaldesh, Jatiya Party (JP-led by Manju) and Tarikat Federation as well as the independent ones at 11:45 am.

Dr Shirin administered the oath to the Jatiya Party MPs at 12:18pm.

But, Jatiya Party Chairman HM Ershad was not seen in the oath-taking function. He is likely to take oath at 3pm, sources said.

Senior Secretary of Parliament Secretariat Dr Zafar Ahmed Khan conducted the oath-taking ceremony for new MPs elected in the 11th parliamentary election.

However, the five elected MPs of BNP and two of Gano Forum did not turn up to take oath till filing of the report at 1:00pm.

On Tuesday, the Election Commission published the official gazette containing the names of the newly-elected 298 MPs.

Of the elected MPs, 257 are from Awami League, 22 from Jatiya Party, five from BNP, three from Workers’ Party, two each from Jatiya Samajtantrik Dal (Jasod-led by Inu), Bikalpadhara Bangladesh and Gano Forum, one each from Jatiya Party (Manju-led JP) and Tarikat Federation and three independent ones.

A total of 288 MPs were elected from the AL-led Grand Alliance, while seven from Jatiya Oikyafront.

Of the 300 seats, 299 constituencies went to polls on Sunday as the election to Gaibandha-3 constituency was earlier postponed following the death of Jatiya Oikyafront candidate. The polls to Gaibandha-3 will be held on January 27.

Of the 299 constituencies, the EC did not declare the election results of Brahmanbaria-2 as the balloting in three polling stations was postponed there.

The Election Commission on Wednesday sent a letter to the Parliament Secretariat for arranging the oath-taking ceremony of the newly-elected MPs.

According to law, any newly elected MP should take oath within the three days after publication of the gazette and if anyone fails to take oath within 90 days of the 1st session, his constituency will fall vacant.