Tigers leave Dhaka for SA


Sports desk, September 17: Bangladesh Cricket Team left Dhaka for South Africa on Saturday to play a full-fledged series against the Proteas.The Test squad of the Tigers were take off from Hazrat Shahjalal International Airport in two groups—early in the morning and in the evening.

The Tigers will play two Tests — first one at Senwes Park, Potchefstroom on September 28- October 2 while the 2nd one at Mangaung Oval, Bloemfontein on October 6-10.

Before the Test series, Bangladesh will start their campaign in South Africa with a three-day tour match (September 21-23) against the South Africa Invitation XI at Willowmoore Park, Benoni.

After the Test series, Bangladesh will play three ODIs (October 15, 18 and 22) and two T20Is (October 26 and 29) against the hosts. However, the squad for the ODI and T20 series is yet to be announced.

Bangladesh Cricket Board on Monday (Sept 11) announced a 15-man Test squad for their mission while on the same day, Cricket South Africa (CSA) announced a 12-strong Invitation XI for the tour match.

South Africa are scheduled to their Test squad for the series on Friday.

Meanwhile, BCB chief selector Minhajul Abedin Nannu will act as the team manager of the Tigers for the tour of South Africa as Khaled Mahmud Sujon expressed his unwillingness to serve the job showing personal reason.

Bangladesh Test squad: Mushfiqur Rahim (captain), Tamim Iqbal, Soumya Sarkar, Imrul Kayes, Sabbir Rahman, Mahmudullah Riyad, Liton Kumar Das, Mehidy Hasan Miraz, Taijul Islam, Mustafizur Rahman, Rubel Hossain, Shafiul Islam, Taskin Ahmed, Shubhasish Roy and Mominul Haque.

South Africa Invitation XI: SA Invitation XI squad: Aiden Markram, Tladi Bokako, Okuhle Cele, Matthew Christensen, Michael Cohen, Isaac Dikgale, Zubayr Hamsa, Heinrich Klaasen, Migael Pretorius, Yaseen Valli, Shaun von Berg and Lwandiswa Zuma.