Tiger’s historic win against Australia by 20 runs


Sports desk, August 30: Bangladesh beat touring Australia by 20 runs in the first Test in Mirpure Sher-e-Bangla Cricket Stadium on Wednesday.

Shakib Al Hasan bagged 5 wickets while Mehedi Hasan Miraz took 2 and Taijul Islam took 3 wickets.

Bangladesh secured a 20-run victory midway through the second session  of the penultimate day of the opening Test at the Sher-e-Bangla National Cricket Stadium in Mirpur on Wednesday as the hosts took 1-0 lead in the two-match series.

Chasing 265 to win the spin-dominated contest, Australia were all out for 244 in their second innings with Shakib taking 5-85 to follow up his 5-68 from the first innings.

Earlier, Bangladesh flexed their spin muscles to claim five wickets in an eventful morning session.

The tourists were reeling at 199 for 7 at the stroke of lunch, with their rapidly-diminishing hopes resting on Glenn Maxwell, who was batting on 14 with Pat Cummins on two, and Australia still needing 66 runs for an improbable victory.

Overnight batsmen David Warner and skipper Steve Smith were key to their chances of snatching a memorable win in the spin-dominated contest, and the duo raised 130 runs for the third wicket before fortunes fluctuated once more.

Resuming day four on 109-2, Warner batted with calculated aggression, while Smith was content to play second fiddle as they continued the good work they had started on Tuesday evening with some generous assistance from lady luck.

Warner survived a review before the southpaw brought up his 19th Test century, a second in Asia. Then when the opener was on 106, he pulled a Shakib Al Hasan delivery and the ball flew past leg-slip before he could put his hands together.

Smith was on 28 when Tamim Iqbal spilled him at mid-on but Shakib (4-68) was lurking round the corner with his left-arm spin to change the complexion of the match.

Shakib first trapped Warner leg-before for 112 and, four overs later, had Smith caught behind for 37 to pile the pressure back on Australia.

On a turning track where their frontline batsmen have struggled against Bangladesh’s three-pronged spin attack, Peter Handscomb, Matthew Wade and Ashton Agar all fell in quick succession prior to lunch.