Re-polls at 2 SCC centres underway


Sylhet, August 11: Re-election at two suspended Sylhet City Corporation (SCC) polling stations began at 8am on Saturday and continue till 4pm without any break.  There are 2,221 voters at Gazi Burhanuddin Garam Dewan Government Primary School centre while 2,566 at Hobinandi Government Primary School one.

The elections to Rajshahi, Barishal and Sylhet city corporations were held July 30.

However, the announcement of the results was postponed in Sylhet as the number of votes in two centres where voting was suspended is higher than the difference between the two leading candidates’ tallies.

BNP mayoral candidate Ariful Haque Chowdhury has taken a lead of 4,626 votes in 132 centres out of 134. Ariful bagged 90,496 votes while Awami League’s Badar Uddin Ahmed Kamran polled 85,870.