Rajshahi, Sylhet, Barishal city polls July 30


Dhaka, May 29: The election commission on Tuesday announced the schedule for mayoral elections to three city corporations–Rajshahi, Sylhet and Barishal–fixing July 30 as the day of balloting.Chief Election Commissioner KM Nurul Huda made the announcement of the polls schedule at a press conference at the EC secretariat in Agargaon in Dhaka.

He said local MPs will not be able to carry out electioneering in their respective elections, although MPs from non-election area will be able to carry out the campaign.

The CEC said the election schedule will be effective from June 13 and aspiring candidates can submit nomination papers until June 28.

According to the schedule, nNomination papers will be scrutinised on 1 and 2 July and one can lodge objections to any nomination paper from July 3 to 5.

Nurul Huda said the last date for withdrawing nomination paper is 9 July while the election symbols would be allotted on July 10.

In response to a question, CEC Huda said the commission could not finalise the code of conduct for the city polls as yet.

He, however, said, “Local MPs will not be able to carry out electioneering, but other MPs will be able to do so.”

At a media briefing earlier on Thursday last, EC secretary Helal Uddin Ahmed said all MPs would be able to join the election campaigning during city polls.