President approves new EC, ex-secretary Nurul Huda new CEC


Dhaka, February 6: The new election commission (EC) has been formed and former secretary KM Nurul Huda has been made chief election commissioner (CEC).
The election commissioners are— former secretary Rafiqul Islam, former additional secretary Mahbub Talukder, former judge Kabita Khanom and Brig Gen (Retd) Shahdat Hossain Chowdhury.
Meanwhile, President Abdul Hamid has approved the new election commission.
In a press conference, Cabinet secretary Md Shafiul Alam announced the appointment by the president during a briefing around 9:30pm.
A gazette notification will be issued soon in this regard, he added.
Earlier, the Search Committee formed to reconstitute the Election Commission (EC) finalised 10 names from those provided by political parties. The names were submitted to the President along with detailed description about them.
Later, the Search Committee members went  Bangabhaban in the evening to meet President Abdul Hamid along with their list of names of 10 persons which were finalised at a meeting in the afternoon.
Bangabhaban sources said that the Search Committee members handed over the list of 10 names along with deatail description of the persons they had chosen.
Earlier, they sat in a meeting for the fourth and last time at Supreme Court Judges’ Lounge at 4:00pm to finalise the names of new election commissioners.
The members of the search committee finalised the list of ten persons to propose the names to the President at Bangabhaban, sources said.
The Search Committee members went Bangabhaban where they were scheduled to meet President Md Abdul Hamid and handover the list at 6:30pm.
Then the President is likely to appoint the chief election commissioner (CEC) and four election commissioners (ECs) from the list. However, it is not mandatory for the President to appoint the CEC and ECs from the list of names that will be proposed by the Search Committee.
It may be mentioned that President Md Abdul Hamid formed the six-member search committee headed by Justice Syed Mahmud Hossain of the Appellate Division of Supreme Court on January 25 last.
Other members of the committee are Justice Obaidul Hasan of High Court, Dr Mohammad Sadique of Public Service Commission, Prof Syed Manzurul Islam of the Department of English of Dhaka University, Comptroller and Auditor General Masud Ahmed and Chittagong University Pro-VC Dr Shirin Akhter.
The search commitee was given the responsibility to submit names for the new Election Commission within the 10 working days.
The President will form a five-member Election Commission from the names recommended by the search committee.
After the formation, the Search Committee held its first meeting on January 28, followed by second meeting on January 30 with 12 eminent persons.
On January 31, the Search Committee members held another meeting among themselves, where they shortlisted the names of 20 persons from more than 125 names received from the political parties. The Search Committee members held their third meeting on Thursday last where they discussed about the names of 10 selected persons.