PM distributes ‘Public Administration Award-2016’ among 30 recipients


Dhaka, July 23: Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina on Saturday distributed the first-ever ‘Public Administration Award 2016’ among 30 officers at city’s Osmani Memorial Auditorium.

The premier handed over the award for 2016 to 30 officials and employees as well as institutions in recognition to their significant and innovative work in public administration.Syed Ashraf receives award

Public Administration Minister Syed Ashraful Islam presided over the function, while State Minister for Public Administration Ismat Ara Sadique and Chairman of the Parliamentary Standing Committee on the Public Administration Ministry HN Ashiqur Rahman were present as the special guests. Cabinet Secretary Mohammad Shafiul Alam and Senior Secretary of the Public Administration Ministry Dr Kamal Abdul Naser Chowdhury also spoke at the function.PM with awardees

The award-recipients at national level are: Rahima Khatun of BCS (admin) Academy in individual category in general field; Programme Director (group leader) Md Mostafizur Rahman of the Access to Information (a2i) Programme under the Prime Minister’s Office (PMO), Deputy Secretary of the Public Administration Ministry Zahid Hossain Ponir, Assistant Director of BCS (admin) Academy GM Sarfaraj, Assistant Director of the Foreign Ministry Tanmoy Kumar Mazumdar and Assistant Programmer of Jessore district administration Md Motahar Hossain in group category in general field; the Governance Innovation Unit of the PMO in the institutional category in the general field; Upazila Agriculture Officer of Chowhali in Sirajganj Md Shahadat Hossain Siddiqui in individual category in technical field; Deputy Commissioner of Narayanganj Md Anisur Rahman (group leader), Additional Deputy Commissioner (education and ICT) of Narayanganj Begum Shahin Ara Begum and Assistant Commissioners Begum Joya Maria Perera and Begum Farhana Afsana Chowdhury in group category in technical field and the a2i Programme in institutional category in the technical field. Those who received award in individual category in general field at the district level are Upazila Cooperatives Officer of Panchagar Sadar Upazila Md Mamun Kabir, Upazila Nirbahi Officer (UNO) of Iswarganj in Mymensing Razib Kumar Sarkar, UNO of Damurhuda in Chuadanga Md Faridur Rahman.

Joint Secretary of the Road and Highways Division and former deputy commissioner of Feni Md Humayun Kabir Khandakar, Manager of Mass Rapid Transit Development Project and former ADC (general) of Feni Md Enamul Haque, Deputy Director of Family Planning, Feni Iftekhar Ahmed Chowdhury, UNO of Feni Sadar Upazila PKM Enamul Karim, Sub-Assistant Community Medical Officer of Lemua Union in Feni Sadar Upazila Dr Rabindranath Dutta and Family Planning Inspector of Chhanua Union of Feni Sadar Meer Azam Hossain, Director of the Prime Minister’s Office and former deputy commissioner of Rangpur Farid Ahammad, ADC (revenue) of Rangpur Mostain Billah, ADC(revenue) of Sherpur and ex-UNO of Peerganj, Rangpur, ATM Ziaul Islam, UNO of Bochaganj in Dinajpur and former assistant commissioner (land) Md Rashedul Islam and Executive Magistrate of Rangpur City Corporation and ex-AC(land)of Peerganj in Rangpur SM Golam Kibria got the awards in individual category in the general field at the district level. The Tax Zone-2 under the Chittagong Tax Commissioner Office and Deputy Commissioner Office of Joypurhat received the award in institutional category in general field, while UNO of Matiranga in Khagrachhari Hill District BM Moshiur Rahman got the award in individual category in technical field at the district level. Each of the awardees in individual category at national level received an 18-carat gold medal weighing one bhori, a crest, a certificate, and Tk one lakh, while gold medal, crest and the highest Tk 5 lakh were given to a group at the national level.PM distributes award

Those who have been selected in individual category at the district level got Tk 50,000 and a certificate, while the highest Tk one lakh and a certificate were given to a group at the district level.

Senior Secretary of the Public Administration Ministry Dr Kamal Abdul Naser Chowdhury conducted award-distribution session of the function.