Nominations of DSCC, DNCC mayor candidates declared by EC


Dhaka, Jan 02: The Election Commission has declared valid the nomination forms of all seven candidates for contesting the mayoral post in Dhaka South City Corporation (DSCC) polls.Returning officer Md Abdul Baten made the announcement at Dhaka’s Gopibag on Thursday after scrutinising the nomination papers of the aspirants.

The valid candidates are: Awami League’s Sheikh Fazle Noor Taposh, BNP’s Ishraq Hossain, Jatiya Party’s Saifuddin Ahmed Milon, Islami Andolon Bangladesh’s Abdur Rahman, National People’s Party’s Bahrane Sultan, Gonofront’s Abdus Samad, and Bangladesh Congress’ Md Aktar Uzzaman.

Besides, the EC declared valid the nomination papers of AL’s candidate M Atiqul Islam and BNP’s candidate Tabith Awal in the mayoral election of Dhaka North City Corporation (DNCC).

DNCC Returning Officer Md Abul Kasem announced this at the beginning of nomination paper scrutinizing process.

The EC rejected the nomination paper of Jatiya Party’s candidate GM Kamrul Islam as he is not the voter of DNCC.

Besides, the EC also declared valid the nomination papers of Gana Front’s Kazi Md Shahidullah, Islami Andolan Bangladesh’s Sheikh Md Fazle Bari Maswood, PDP’s Shahin Khan, NPP’s Md Anisur Rahman Dewan and Bangladesh Communist Party’s Ahmmed Sazzadul Haque.

The elections to Dhaka north and south city corporations will be held on January 30 next year.

According to the polls schedule, the last date for withdrawing candidacy is January 9.