Good start for Bangladesh in ICC World T20 Cup mission


Dhaka, Mar 9: Bangladesh cricketers started its ICC World T20 cup mission beating Netherlands by eight runs at Himachal Pradesh Cricket Association Stadium in India’s Dharamsala on Wednesday.

After winning the toss, Netherlands invited tigers of Bangladesh to bat first and scored 153 runs in 20 overs.

 In chasing the runs, Netherlands were losing wicket regularly from the beginning of their innings and scored 143 runs for seven wickets in their allotted 20 overs.

Opener Tamim scored 83 off 58 balls hitting six groundbreaking boundaries and three huge maximums which secured 154-run target for Netherlands.

Besides, Soumya Sarkar and Sabbir Rahman both scored 15 runs while Mahmudullah contributed 10. No other Bangladeshi batsmen were able to reach double digit.

Al Amin Hossain and Shakib Al Hasan picked up two wickets each.

For Netherlands, T van der Gugten bagged three wickets while PA van Meekeren took two wickets.

PW Borren scored 29 runs while SJ Myburgh managed to score 29 runs facing 37 balls.

In the remaining two qualifying round matches at the same venue, Bangladesh will play against Ireland and Oman on March 11 and 13.

Tamim Iqbal won man of the Match title for his unbeaten 83 runs.

Bangladesh Squad

Tamim Iqbal, Soumya Sarkar, Sabbir Rahman, Mushfiqur Rahim (wk), Shakib Al Hasan, Mahmudullah, Nasir Hossain, Mashrafe Mortaza (capt), Al-Amin Hossain, Arafat Sunny, Taskin Ahmed

Netherlands Squad

Stephan Myburgh, Wesley Barresi (wk), Ben Cooper, Tom Cooper, Peter Borren (capt), Roelof van der Merwe, Pieter Seelar, Mudassar Bukhari, Logan van Beek, Tim van der Gugten, Paul van Meekeren.