Bangladesh to remain without other’s help: PM


Dhaka, Mar 25: Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina on Sunday said Bangladesh as a victorious nation would live in the world forever keeping its head high without seeking help to others.“We are moving ahead as best as possible on our part and we will continue our progress to take the country to a more dignified position,” she said while distributing the “Swadhinata Padak-2018” (Independence Award-2018) at Osmany Memorial Auditorium here today.

Sheikh Hasina said Bangladesh was born with most of its people under poverty. Bangabandhu turned the war ravaged country into to a complete State within three and a half years of his tenure.

“When people saw ‘light of hope’—unfortunately, the black chapter descended upon the nation on August 15, 1975,” she said, adding that Bangladesh would have been a prosperous country much before if Bangabandhu was alive.

The prime minister said the Independence Award would inspire new generation to be imbued with the spirit of patriotism, carrying out their responsibility to the nation to take it forward in future.

Sheikh Hasina congratulated the recipients of the Independence Award-2018, saying the government has given the award this year to those personalities, who have immense contribution to independence as well as country’s socio- economic advancement.

This year 18 noted citizens including Cultural Affairs Minister Assaduzzaman Noor were given the highest national award in recognition of their outstanding contribution to their respective fields.

Out of them, eleven persons were given the award for their contribution and supreme sacrifice for the independence while seven received the award for their outstanding contribution to their respective fields.

The premier adorned ‘Swadhinata Padak- 2018’ to eight recipients while wives and family members of the others received the crest, medal and certificate at the function held under the auspices of the Cabinet Division.

The recipients are – late Kazi Zakir Hasan, martyred intellectual SMA Rashidul Hasan, late Shankar Gobinda Chowdhury, Air Vice-marshal (Retd.) Sultan Mahmud, Bir Uttam, late M Abdur Rahim, late Bhupati Bhushan Chowdhury alias Manik Chowdhury, Shaheed Lt M Anwarul Azim, late Humayun Rashid Chowdhury, Shaheed Amanullah Mohammad Asaduzzaman, Shaheed Matiur Rahman Mallik, Shaheed Sergeant Zahurul Haque and Amzadul Haque (Independence and Liberation War), Dr AK MD Ahsan Ali (Medical Science), Professor AK Azad Khan (Social Service), Selina Hossain (Literature) and Dr Md Abdul Mazid (Food Security), Cultural Affairs Minister Assaduzzaman Noor (Culture) and Channel I director Shykh Seraj (agricultural journalism).

Cabinet Secretary Md Shafiul Alam conducted the function and read out the citation of the Independence Award recipients with their brief life sketch.

Professor Dr Md. Abdul Mazid spoke on the occasion on behalf of the award recipients.

Each award recipients was given a medal weighing 50-gram gold of 18 karat, Taka three lakh and a citation while 247 personalities and organizations were given the award so far.

Bangabandhu daughter Sheikh Rehana, ministers, advisers to the Prime Minister, Deputy Speaker, judges, parliament members, chiefs of three services, diplomats, vice-chancellors of different universities and high civil and military officials were present on the occasion.

Source: BSS