2nd test: Sri Lanka bat first against Bangladesh


Themorningbellbd.com desk, March 15: Sri Lanka won the toss and elected to bat first against visiting Bangladesh in the last Test of their two-match Joy Bangla Cup series at P Sara Oval in Colombo on Wednesday.

It is the 100th Test match for touring Bangladesh cricket team.

Uncapped all-rounder Mosaddek Hossain was included in the best XI while Imrul Kayes, Sabbir Rahman and Taijul Islam returned the team for the landmark 100th Test replacing Liton Das, Mahmudullah Riyad, Mominul Haque and Taskin Ahmed.

Bangladesh are going to play the historic match 17 years after joining international cricket’s elite club.

On the 140th anniversary of Test cricket, Tigers will become the tenth nation to play 100 Tests when they take the field in Sri Lanka.

Tigers are going into today’s Test trailing the two-match series 0-1 after last week’s crushing 259-run defeat at Galle.

Bangladesh Squad: Tamim Iqbal, Soumya Sarkar, Imrul Kayes, Shakib Al Hasan, Mushfiqur Rahim (Capt & wk), Sabbir Rahman, Mosaddek Hossain, Mehedi Hasan, Taijul Islam, Subashis Roy and Mustafizur Rahman.

Sri Lanka Squad: FDM Karunaratne, WU Tharanga, BKG Mendis, LD Chandimal, DAS Gunaratne, DM de Silva, N Dickwella (wk), MDK Perera, HMRKB Herath (Capt), RAS Lakmal and PADLR Sandakan.

Source: Agencies