25 political parties propose names for new EC: Search committee selects 20, out of 125 names


Dhaka, January 31: The search committee formed to recommend names to reconstitute the Election Commission (EC) has selected a list of 20 persons choosing from 125 names proposed by 25 political parties on Tuesday.
The names were finalised at the second meeting of search committee for the formation of new EC.
The meeting was at the Supreme Court Judges’ Lounge on Tuesday afternoon.
Search Committee convener Justice Syed Mahmud Hossain presided over the meeting.
Other members of the committee attended the meeting were Justice Obaidul Hasan of High Court, Dr Mohammad Sadique of Public Service Commission, Prof Syed Manzurul Islam of the Department of English of Dhaka University, Comptroller and Auditor General Masud Ahmed and Chittagong University Pro-VC Dr Shirin Akhter.
Meanwhile, the Bangladesh Nationalist Party (BNP) has submitted a list of five names, including Dr Tofail Ahmed and senior lawyer Dr Shahdeen Malik, for new prospective election commissioners.
The other names in the list are former secretary Asaf-ud-Dowla, local government expert Dr Tofail Ahmed, former Bangladesh Bank Governor Dr Salehuddin Ahmed and Tasmim Ahmed.
The ruling party Awami League has submitted a list five names—Manzur Hossain, Molla Wahiduzzaman, Abdul Karim, Noor Mohammad and Professor Dr Sadeka Halim.
Earlier at about 4:00pm, the Cabinet Division placed the names proposed by 27 political parties before the six-member search committee. Cabinet Division secretary Mohammad Shafiul Alam and additional secretary Abdul Wadud brought the names to the Judges’ Lounge of the Supreme Court from the Secretariat.
Additional secretary of the cabinet division Abdul Wadud said 27 political parties submitted names responding to the search committee’s call.
Islami Andolon Bangladesh, Bikalpa Dhara Bangladesh, Bangladesh Khelafat Majlish and Gano Forum did not submit any name, while Communist Party of Bangladesh explained through letter why they abstained from proposing names.
Search Commitee sent letter to 31 political parties seeking names. Of them, 25 political parties including Awami League and BNP submitted five names each.
Earlier on Sunday, the Search Committee held its first meeting. On Monday, it held a meeting withy 12 eminent citizens of the country.
It may be mentioned that President Md Abdul Hamid formed a six-member search committee headed by Justice Syed Mahmud Hossain of the Appellate Division of Supreme Court on January 25 last. The search commitee was given the responsibility to submit names for the new Election Commission within the 10 working days. The President will form a five-member Election Commission from the names recommended by the search committee.